Summer in Camotes

I love summertime. How I wish every day would be a summer. It is extra special to me, especially the month of May. It’s not just that it’s a family time, since there’s no school for my kids, but it’s also my birth month!

Summer may be over now though.  Almost every day, the sky is cloudy and it rains. Good thing we had our summer vacation with family, and it was during my birthday. Awesome, right?

This might be a late blog post, and I apologize for that. 🙂  Anyway, it was such a memorable time for me since it was my first time celebrating my birthday out of town with my family all the way from Samar.

I love nature, so I decided our family would go to Camotes Island, Cebu. It was my first time there. I didn’t regret of going there although it was the hardest in getting a ticket for the ferry ride from Danao, Cebu to Camotes Island.

Since we were 10 heads, my brother suggested we rent a house for 3 days instead of staying at a hotel, which would definitely cost us a lot of money. It was a good idea. The house was owned by his wife’s relative, so it was just like a home for us. We could buy food from the market and cook there. We were well rested and relaxed since the house was surrounded with trees and there was a huge backyard. It was sooo relaxing 🙂

The best thing about going to Camotes is that you don’t need to spend a lot of money. You have the option of not staying at hotel since there are a lot of houses offering for day’s rental. They are not available on the internet. You can just go there and ask people from the pier for houses you can stay. There are also cheaper resorts there that you can’t book on the internet, but are available when you book in person.

Camotes is a small island that you can tour around within a day or two. You just need to have transportation since the tourist spots are far from each other. You don’t need to worry. You can rent motorcycles that range from P300-P500 per day. There are also multicabs available there for rent. We brought our car there for convenience since we were many and just rented 1 motorcycle.

On the first day, we toured around the island. We first went to Lake Danao.

There are restaurants there, and that was where we had our lunch.

There was a horse riding that my curious little girls tried. 🙂 They had fun riding on a horse for the first time.

We also headed to Buho Rock and enjoyed watching people diving. The whole family also enjoyed swimming with warm seawater there.

It was so much so much fun on day one. On the second day and my birthday, we spent the whole day in Santiago Bay Garden Resort. Here’s the view

They have an infinity pool that you will really love.

It was so much relaxing and distressing.

They have a restaurant. This is where we had lunch. Food is yummy and the prices are affordable.

How about you? Have you been in Camotes? Go visit the island. It’s one of the best places I’ve been to.

 

Author: Maye

Hi, I'm Maye from Cebu, Philippines. These are purely my thoughts about life, fashion, insights, etc.

Leave a Reply

